Adam..

4 of 5 stars false

bookshelves: favorites

Recommended for: anyone
Read from August 17 to September 01, 2012, read count: 1
The first of nine article installments placed throughout Ted Dekker’s Adam shouldn’t have compelled me to the degree that it did. Having read his epic Circle series, I’d familiarized myself with his unique writing style, therefore I should have had a general idea of what to expect. I couldn’t have been more wrong. Not only did it compel me to keep reading, the horrific childhood events of Alex and Jessica Price fascinated me. What’s more, I empathized with them, which is impressive on its own, considering all this (and much more) takes place in the first eight pages.From the start of Chapter 1, the reader is introduced to the novel’s protagonist, the self-involved, workaholic FBI agent by the name of Daniel Clark. Alongside Clark’s well-rounded character, Dekker expertly- almost seamlessly- fills you in on the ever evasive serial murderer known simply as “Eve,” who continually haunts and terrorizes the young women of Los Angeles.
At he same time, we’re introduced to Special Agent Clark’s unofficial new partner, Lori Ames, a highly intelligent pathologist from Phoenix, AZ. She’s also fairly well-developed, and I liked her character almost instantly.
Shortly thereafter, Dekker showcases yet another key player in the form of Heather Clark (Daniel’s former wife.) It’s very interesting to see the world through her perspective, for not only does the reader acclimate themselves to her, but we also learn a bit about their failed marriage… She’s been keeping secrets of her own. Deadly secrets.

Another aspect that I found fascinating was the term Dimethyltryptamine, or DMT. Through the text, I learned that it’s a natural hallucinogenic drug, “excreted in massive doses from the pineal gland” oftentimes during traumatic NDE’s (near-death experiences.) Hence, the the cause of seeing “the white light.”
DMT is also believed to result in memory loss.

I see you, Daniel… Thus is the start of several creepy moments. I mean, just imagine awaking up to those cryptic words after a night of restless sleep. I see you, Daniel…
It’s very rare for a book to creep me out the way Adam did. On scene, in particular, literally made me shiver.

Near the end, Dekker takes the story in a completely different direction. It is so OUT-THERE, you almost don’t see it coming. Almost. Though in hindsight, the clues are sprinkled virtually everywhere.
In this nearly shocking culmination, he manages to instill additional information which doesn’t seem forced at all. It’s highly entertaining, but does not read like a history lesson.

As much as I’ve raved about the merits of Adam, there is one instance (also placed in the books’ resolution) where a central character cries out the words: “Mitch bitch.”
Now ordinarily, this wouldn’t bother me. But this is coming from a well known Christian writer. It shouldn’t be there. It only happens once, but by then, the damage is already done. Speaking of which, why would he say it just once? Why not forgo the vulgarity and “tell” instead of “show” ? I realize that Dekker was probably going for a sense of realism, but the word hardly seems necessary.
And by bringing up the gentleman’s name, an infidelity is implied, but goes nowhere.
For this reason alone, I’m giving it 4.5 stars.

“As always with a Ted Dekker thriller, the detail is stunning, pointing to meticulous research in a raft of areas: police and FBI methods, forensic medicine, psychological profiling– in short, all that accompanies a Federal hunt for a serial killer. But Dekker fully reveals his magic in the latter part of the book, when he subtly introduces his darker and more frightening theme. It’s all too creepily convincing. We have to keep telling ourselves that this is fiction. At the same time, we can’t help thinking that not only could it happen, but that it will happen if we’re not careful.”

-David M. Kiely and Christina McKenna, authors of The Dark Sacrament

Said blurb is SPOT-ON!

8 thoughts on “Adam..

    1. Hi, Angie!

      Thank you so much for dropping by and reading my latest review, I really appreciate that!
      And you’re 100% correct: Adam is an amazing read, IMO! Have you read any of Dekker’s work?

  1. “Adam” was a great read! Even though it kept me up extremely late… I just could not put it down until I finished it! It’s one of my favorites of Dekker’s books.
    I was disappointed to read that one bit of vulgarity you mentioned. It was totally not necessary & caused my opinion of Dekker to lower.

    1. Hi, Aerykah!

      Thank you so much for dropping by and especially for following my blog. I really appreciate it, my friend. Thank you for the kind comments, as well.

      Adam is definitely a favorite of mine, too. I don’t know if I’d say the profanity lowered my views on Dekker, but like I said in my review, the book lost a star because of it. I’m glad to see that you and I agree.

      1. It wasn’t just the profanity in this book (should have mentioned that), but he’s done that in other books. He’s also included some stuff such as descriptions that I found to be unnecessary. It just kinda makes me want to stop reading his books…

      2. Aw, I hadn’t realized that he’d done that before. That’s a sad, sad shame.. What are some of the things that he’s described that you feel are unnecessary? I hope you don’t quit reading him, because I think he is AMAZING. But if that is the case, I respect your decision.

      3. Have you read The Bride Collector? I just thought he went a bit too far with his descriptions of the victims (they were mostly naked). My teenage brother reads his books & I wouldn’t want him reading that.
        And I heard that Immanuel’s Veins was full of really sensual stuff. One person at my library even asked for it to be moved from the Christian fiction section to the regular fiction section. I decided to not read that one…
        I haven’t given up on Dekker yet, but I don’t enjoy his books as much as I used to.

      4. No, I haven’t read The Bride Collector. I really want to, though.. I see what you mean about not wanting your younger brother to read stuff like that. My youngest stepson is 12, and I certainly don’t think it’s appropriate. Then again, I started reading Stephen King at the age of 14 or 15. I guess one’s perspective changes once you become a parent.

        Oh, wow! That sounds pretty drastic. But if it is that sensual (which I’ve heard before, BTW,) then it’s probably a reasonable request.

Leave a Reply

