The Tommyknockers…

Dustin Frueh‘s review

Oct 19, 12  ·  edit
4 of 5 stars false

bookshelves: re-read

Read from September 07 to October 18, 2012 — I own a copy, read count: 2
Prior to going into my second reading of The Tommyknockers, I wasn’t sure that I even wanted to read it. Needful Things, Lisey’s Story, or The Talisman would have been preferable, as those three novels have been on my mind a lot lately. I only reason I did decide to go with The Tommyknockers is because it won the SK group read for September, and I’d never participated in a group read, and wanted to be a part of it.
Having said that, I am so glad that I did!I finished last night, and what can I say? For the most part, I loved every word, although I do think it drags a bit here and there. That final scene with Hilly and David served as the icing on the cake for me. It’s such a tender moment, and very sweet, too.
Also, a lot of readers don’t particularly care for Book II, but it’s my personal favorite. The town’s history is fascinating, and I loved the “now-let’s-eavesdrop-on-our-fellow-neighbors” feel of it, which is very reminiscent of Under the Dome. In all earnestness, I don’t feel that the middle section is disjointed, wonky, or otherwise disconnected to the rest of the novel. On the contrary, every aspect seems to be in direct (or indirect) relation to everything else.
Additionally, I love intricate stories with a plethora of characters, and this is no exception… especially Ruth McCausland and Hilly Brown. They are easily my two favorite characters. I really got into young Hilly as an individual, mostly because he and I share some similar attributes. And he is HILARIOUS. I literally laughed aloud at some of the things he got himself into!
  As King’s epic tome comes to a close, there are several scenes that stick out very much, one in which I won’t forget any time soon. For instance, the Shed People’s various inventions, or modifications, if you will. For instance, the classic Coke machine and the maniacal smoke detector, soaring through the woods like something out of Star Wars.
Finally, there’s Gard’s ascension, and most importantly, the dire circumstances behind it. I LOVE how it’s fueled by virtually
everything and everyone around him. It’s a very powerful scene, IMO.

There are so many other aspects of the novel that I could go on and on about, but I won’t, for fear of spoiling the story to those that haven’t read it yet.

Leave a Reply

