Black House..

 

 


4 of 5 stars false

bookshelves: re-readto-read-in-2013

Read from January 08 to February 02, 2013 — I own a copy, read count: 2

 

In the early eighties, Stephen King and Peter Straub embarked on the ultimate coming-of-age tale. The Talisman easily solidified the collaboration’s super status. Then, nearly two decades later, they returned to their literary roots. Black House portrays a different Jack Sawyer, now a semi-retired Los Angeles detective. He won’t remain there much longer, though. By requesting his expertise in a major case, a colleague-turned-friend leads him to Wisconsin, where his life will be irrevocably altered…in numerous ways.

Black House is very different from its predecessor. One of the most significant changes is the unique writing style. Almost everything’s shown by way of what I like to call “an eagle’s eye” view. This can be somewhat difficult and frustrating to adjust to, and I completely understand that critique. It’s also a little slow at first. We’re not actually reunited with Jack until the first 60 or so pages.
My first time through the Coulee Country, I struggled with it a bit, too. But it being a King novel, I knew a big payoff was inevitable.

And maintaining his “I’m retired” mindset, Jack is reluctant to aid the local police investigation of a string of grisly serial killings. It’s only until a young boy is abducted that Jack agrees to assist the authorities.

With the addition of a handful of eccentric characters (including the ever positive, delightful, and beloved Henry Lyden,) we’re given recurring appearances of one or more characters from The Talisman.

One new addition, named Charles Burnside, alludes to a less than pleasant childhood, leaving something to be desired. I wanted to know more. For instance, how exactly was he mistreated (presuming, of course, that was the case,) what were his parents like? Who were his parents? What events helped form the individual shown throughout the novel?
More importantly, can he be empathized with, knowing what we do about him? Should we be expected to? I felt next to nothing for him, whatsoever. Unless my utter abhorrence of him is put into consideration. That particular emotion resonates in every fiber of my being. But if I may return briefly to the aforementioned alluding, my heart does go out to him. Though all too fleeting…

How about his time in Chicago? He displays an abundance of scorn which tells the reader of his pent-up resentment. What specifically happened there, though?
That being said, I love the duality of ol’ “burn, burn’s” voices and/or accents. (In general, it’s always a pleasure to find elements of duality in fiction, but in this case, I think King and Straub pulled it off exceptionally well.) Reminiscent of some nefarious-yet equally skilled- ventriloquist, the sequence baffles the mind in every sense of the word.

Additionally, I think I probably would have been more impacted if our killer had been less supernatural and more human.
Why do I emphasize this point? Because, as of late, I’ve come to realize that villains who are more less fantastical (Rose Madder’s Norman Daniels or The Shining’s Jack Torrance, to name a few) have a much larger affect on me.

I almost wish that the killer’s identity had been withheld a bit longer. I believe if they’d done so, it would have created a much more suspenseful, biting-your-nails quality. Then again, the story’s pretty dark and creepy. King and Straub probably weren’t very interested in its mystery; contrarily, this story is very horror-orientated.

All throughout, a recurring theme is explored in interesting way(s:) repressed memories. This literary technique is seen in multiple characters, primarily our protagonist, Jack Sawyer.
On a related note, scientific studies indicate that particularly traumatic experiences often result in repression, as a defense mechanism. And speaking personally, I’m a firm believer. I can recall very little of my childhood.
I’m not the only one, either. King and Straub said it best: “Amnesia is merciful.” Indeed.

The final showdown (and the all-important journey toward that end,) felt slightly long-winded, but the psychological aspects almost demand it. As for the battle itself, I am torn. On the one hand, it is quite phenomenal. On the other, there’s a comic book quality which renders it somewhat unrealistic. As a result, I’m left with many questions whose answers I’d be interested in learning.

Then, due to unforeseen events, Jack is inadvertently transported back to his past, so to speak. By taking their story in this direction, King and Straub present a few very suspenseful closing pages. I was literally holding my anxious breath and hoping for the best. I also realized the depth of my love and admiration for this amazing man. And through certain revelations, things are left open. There simply MUST be a 3rd book!!

Jack’s story isn’t complete.

Leave a Reply

