Our Souls to Keep, Book I…

4 of 5 stars
bookshelves: fringe, speculative-fiction, to-read-2014, religious, psychological, nook, horror
Recommended to Dustin by: Stepheny Fowler
Read from October 04 to 14, 2014 — I own a copy, read count: 1

Thank you, again, Gary, for the opportunity to read and review your work.:)

Overall, I immensely enjoyed the first installment in the Our Souls to Keep trilogy. There were a few elements that felt unrealistic, slightly cliched, or contrived but otherwise, I found Wake’s journey to be very compelling and profound, with a lot of heart!

My most significant critique is the virtually instantaneous chemistry between our demon-human hybrid of a protagonist, and expectant mother, Annemarie. I have no problem with love connections (we should all be happy, we aren’t hard-wired to be alone,) but it happens way too fast, which renders it forced. Needless to say, there are cliches, but they seemed limited and for the most part, genuine. If it had been executed differently, more realistic, I wouldn’t have an issue with it. I adore Wake and Annemarie, earnestly, which is why this is difficult to critique and ultimately leaves me torn..

There were a couple other things that felt somewhat off, but the former really resonates.

At the heart of this story is a significantly altered Wake Reynolds as he combats his newly re-discovered emotions and past transgressions. There’s much more to it than that, but I won’t go into them now, for fear of spoilers. But I will say that what I’ve said is merely scraping the surface of Wake’s unique journey. In fact, I think there’s a lot going on beneath the surface, things I may not have even grasped.

It isn’t exactly clear just how much time has lapsed since the prequel, but it’s obviously several years later. Years spent as one of the devil’s most prized Soul Collectors. The years in between the two books could have been more in-depth, particularly the stripping of his humanity. I’m still curious as to the specifics.. Also, Wake was 17 in the former book, but we’re told that he’s the same age. With his (view spoiler) did his age freeze in time? It would have been nice if the author had clarified some of these details.

Like The Promised Land, this novel is original, well-written (overall,) creative, action-packed and unpredictable. And considering how it ends, I am more anxious than ever to read the forthcoming sequel!

Leave a Reply

