Tips On Writing..

It’s been awhile since my last blog, so I thought I’d share with you all the latest with me. I’m taking an online creative writing course through the University of Iowa, and it’s completely free (minus the optional $50 for a certificate of completion.) It’s an eight-week class and I’m really enjoying it a lot so far. It started on September 24th, but the official first day of class was the 1st. And the first topic is character. Being all about character development, I don’t have to tell you how enthusiastic I am about this. Which brings me to “the rules.”

We’re advised to make a list of our Top Five (or eight) Rules.

Before I do, I have to share this awesome and incredibly profound and thought-provoking essay by the late Elmore Leonard on this very subject:

http://www.nytimes.com/2001/07/16/arts/writers-writing-easy-adverbs-exclamation-points-especially-hooptedoodle.html

1.) Always write with honesty.

2.) Never take your muse for granted. He/She/It is never wrong, and never sleeps.

3.) Variety is the spice of life (experimentation,) but veering too far can be dangerous.

4.) In order to break the rules, one must know the rules.

5.) Write with clarity, but don’t overdo it.

6.) Stephen King said it best: “Death to all adverbs.”

7.) Avoid the passive and/or paste tense

8.) Have fun!

Please stay tuned for more on my “back to school,” literary journey. And thank you for reading.:)

13 thoughts on “Tips On Writing..

    1. You’re welcome. Ah, man, I’m very sorry, Michelle. If I’d thought of passing this along to you, I surely would have. I’ve seen some posts in the forums saying they took the class the year before, so I’m guessing they offer it annually. Anyway, I’m glad you enjoyed this post. Stay tuned.:)

      1. It’s ok, when it’s the right time I will be able to take it and at least I know about it now so that I can look into it for the future. All things happen in the order they are suppose to. Can’t wait to read your future posts! Have a good Sunday! ~M

      2. Yes, the good thing to come from this is that I’ve brought awareness to you, my friend.:) Please do keep a look out for it next year. The site is http://www.nevoed.com. It’s an awesome place to be! Everything happens for a reason, indeed!
        Thank you, again, for your support! It means a lot to me! Have a wonderful week!

Leave a Reply

