Further Studies of Character, Creating A Larger Cast, and Dialogue..

Although Week Three concerns plot, author Alexia Arthurs offers the following insight:

Prior to beginning a short story or longer work, you might ask yourself:

1.) Who are your cast of characters?

2.) What does each character bring to the narrative?

3.) Are there major and minor characters, or does every one hold an equal importance?

4.) Is anyone lagging behind-whom never came into their own? If you’re bored by certain characters, chances are the reader will be, too. If you can’t develop the character further, you might want to consider omitting said characters.

5.) What type of cast would serve your work best?

Some benefits of a larger cast:

-Multiple POV’s can shed light on a common source of interest in a narrative.

-A large cast can add energy to the story. If you’re familiar with George R.R. Martin’s A Song of Ice and Fire, then surely you see the logic of this.

Lastly, Arthurs speaks of hierarchy:

Whose story/stories matter most?

What is the narrative about–both thematically and concerning plot? Never underestimate the power and importance of theme.

What impressions do you want to leave with the reader?

Each character should earn his/her space on the page-as individuals who really resonate, and as such are due their narrative space. Make them earn their place. Challenge them in ways other writers aren’t. Embrace the extraordinary, the unorthodox and strange. But keep it real, believable, and above all else, always write with integrity and honesty.

As always, thank you for reading and being a part of my journey. Feel free to add any questions or tips you might have regarding these things. I’ll catch you in the comments section!:)

13 thoughts on “Further Studies of Character, Creating A Larger Cast, and Dialogue..

  1. I haven’t been reading nearly enough lately and I think it’s hurting my character development in the stories that I’m writing. What do you think? Do you think that reading plays a big part as well?

    1. Neither have I, Michelle. I’ve struggled all year to focus on reading, actually, and not doing much of that is like a cardinal sin to all writers. Oh yes, never underestimate the power and importance of reading. I cannot stress it enough! Part of me feels like a hypocrite, in light of said ongoing struggle, but if I could somehow recharge my focus, I’d do it in a second. Will you pray for me?

      1. I will definitely pray for you! And I would love it if you could do the same for me. I am being pulled in a million different directions right now and I am not quite sure where to put my focus either. Because next month is National Writing Month, I have decided to finish my Genesis series, and that will involve tons of reading and researching. I would like to be able to get everything sent off for publishing by the end of the year. Can you pray that the Lord me give me instruction along the way?

      2. Thank you. And I certainly will ask that the Lord direct you along your journey. Kudos to you for attempting NaNoWriMo!!!! Is your Genesis series Biblically based? I wish you only the best in your publishing endeavors!

      1. I am also writing an adventure series, but feel that I need to put it on hold until I finish writing my Genesis series. It’s almost like God is telling me that I can’t complete the one without the other. So hopefully I can finish it soon! 🙂

  2. Wow, you are ambitious, Michelle!! Continue to pray for His instructions and follow them. We cannot go wrong if we do.:) It sounds like you’re on the right track, though. I’ll keep you in my prayers.

Leave a Reply

