Thank You For Giraffes

bookshelves: art, children-s-literature, favorites

Recommended for: anyone with the heart of a child.

Read on January 21, 2016 — I own a copy , read count: 2

5/5 stars

I’d like to thank the author, Vivian Rider, for generously providing this copy, but it wasn’t in exchange of an honest review. There were no stipulations whatsoever. I didn’t even request a copy. She approached me simply because I’d expressed a curiosity about her second book. Her generosity seems to be boundless, as she signed it and made it out to my son, alongside a little giraffe doodle. Interesting enough, she didn’t even know at the time that Carter loves giraffes, which made this gift even more special. We shall guard it with our hearts, and cherish it forever.

I’d read books to Carter in the past, but that was before he showed any interest in books. It was also before his attention span lasted more than a minute, two minutes tops. Now that he’s a thriving three year old (he’s three and a half now,) our experience couldn’t have been more different. Carter didn’t just listen, he stood next to me and “helped” turn the pages. Cara’s brief prayer of gratitude captivated us in ways that no other children’s book had before, and none have had that honor since. Within the pages, Vivian passionately explores the vast wilderness of the world, as seen from a child’s eyes. Also from Cara’s perspective is God’s beauty and grace, His generosity and spirit. There’s a certain innocence there that cannot be explained, denied or seen anywhere else. This is truly a book in its own class.

Literally every page is beautifully illustrated with the utmost precision. These aren’t your typical illustrations, either. From cover to cover, the color schemes are bright and breathtaking, and certainly unique and creative. My words on display here can’t do the book justice.

I am incredibly impressed, Vivian, and I’m anxious to read and share your other work with Carter. From our family to yours, this is a job well done!

3 thoughts on “Thank You For Giraffes

  1. Aww, that is so sweet that your son was so into this! That is pretty excellent that the book has his seal of approval 🙂 I’ll have to check it out at the library sometime so that I can appreciate the story and illustrations in person!

    1. For the artwork alone, it is totally worth checking out! I am sure you’ll agree. I look forward to hearing your thoughts on it.:) It was a once in a lifetime experience, indeed!

      #CarterApproved

Leave a Reply

